© Hannes Pacheiner

WORKING

WORK. WHERE THE FUTURE IS SHAPED

THE PERFECT PLACE FOR BRIGHT MINDS AND INNOVATIVE FUTURE SHAPERS.

In this region, tradition, open mindedness, and quality of life are connected in a remarkable way with the advantages of an innovative economic location. International companies and their highly qualified employees have played a particularly important role in Villach’s success story.

© Infineon Technologies Austria

Villach’s rise to prominence as a location for advanced technology is based on continual evolution and always rising to meet new challenges. So that this continues into the future, we have for some time now focused on being a city which supports research and the establishment of new businesses. Alongside the scientific work and teaching at the University of Applied Sciences, groundbreaking cooperation between science and industry has facilitated successful research on promising future technologies. Silicon Austria Labs (SAL) is on the way to becoming a center of excellence for electronic based systems. Additionally, the start-up initiatives build! Startup Incubator or Smart Lab Carinthia, located at the High Tech Campus Villach, offer support to help get entrepreneurs off to a great start.

© Thomas van Emmerik

Villach’s Labor Market in Numbers


8,000+ employees from over 80 countries work at our partner companies
31,004 people are employed in 2,219 businesses
1,107 apprentices in 305 training-providing companies
€ 3,567 gross average monthly salary

The partner companies that are responsible for this collection of information (www.welcome2villach.at), represent only a small selection from the diverse economic scene in Villach, and the region offers a varied mix of businesses from every possible industry. Whether the old or the new economy, manufacturing, retail, services, or the trades, we are always looking for new talent.

Secure and well-paid positions make this an appealing location for both skilled laborers and managers from around the world. Here you’ll find a wide array of businesses that are deeply rooted in the region, from hidden champions to world-famous market leaders, and they offer their employees not only an exceptional quality of life but also a multitude of benefits.

 

 

© Hannes Pacheiner

Whether it’s getting support in working through bureaucratic matters, searching for a job for one’s partner, or helping sorting out childcare, your new start in life will be made as easy as possible. Professional and family life can be brought into an optimal balance. And of course, a welcoming culture and diversity are not only preached, but also practiced.

Needless to say, part of the bedrock of Villach’s road to success are the especially good labor and working conditions in Austria. Among other things, mandatory social insurance ensures financial security in case of illness, an accident, or unemployment, and also offers comprehensive coverage for family members. Annual vacation leave is 25 days.

 

© RVT | Martin Hofmann

Further Facts and Figures


2,576
new business were established in Carinthia in 2018
3.16%
research rate the 2017 research rate in Austria, with which the country achieved 2nd place in the EU
238
new business were established in Villach in 2019
11.5%
unemployment

© Hannes Pacheiner

WORKING

ARBEITEN, WO ZUKUNFT GESTALTET WIRD

DER PERFEKTE ORT FÜR HELLE KÖPFE UND INNOVATIVE ZUKUNFTGESTALTER_INNEN.

Die Region verbindet in besonderer Weise Tradition, Weltoffenheit und Lebensqualität mit den Vorzügen eines innovativen Wirtschaftsstandortes. In der Erfolgsgeschichte Villachs haben besonders internationale Unternehmen und ihre hochqualifizierten Mitarbeiter_innen eine wichtige Rolle gespielt.

© Infineon Technologies Austria

Villachs Aufstieg zum Standort für Hochtechnologie basiert auf dem Anspruch, sich immer wieder neuen Herausforderungen zu stellen und sich ständig weiterzuentwickeln. Damit dies auch in Zukunft so bleibt, setzt man seit geraumer Zeit Akzente für eine Forschungs- und Gründerstadt. Neben der wissenschaftlichen Arbeit und Lehre an der Fachhochschule ermöglichen vor allem wegweisende Kooperationen zwischen Wissenschaft und Industrie erfolgreiche Forschung an vielversprechenden Zukunftstechnologien. Silicon Austria Labs (SAL) ist auf dem Weg zu einem europäischen Spitzenforschungszentrum für elektronik­basierte Systeme. Ergänzend bieten im Technologiepark Villach Start-Up-Initiativen wie das build!-Gründerzentrum oder das Smart Lab Carinthia ideale Startbedingungen für Entrepreneure.

© Thomas van Emmerik

Villachs Arbeitsmarkt in Zahlen


8.000+ Mitarbeiter_innen aus über 80 Nationen arbeiten bei unseren Partnern
31.004 Beschäftigte in 2.219 Arbeitgeberbetrieben
1.107 Lehrlinge in 305 ausbildenden Betrieben
€ 3.567 Durchschnittlicher monatlicher Bruttobezug

Die Industriebetriebe, die für welcome2villach verantwortlich sind, stellen nur eine kleine Auswahl der vielfältigen Wirtschaftsszene Villachs dar. Die Region bietet ein buntes Unternehmensportfolio aus allen denkbaren Branchen. Egal ob Old oder New Economy, Industrie-, Handels-, Dienstleistungs- und Handwerksbetrieb, es werden laufend neue Talente gesucht.

Sichere und gut bezahlte Arbeitsplätze machen den Standort zu einem attraktiven Anlaufpunkt für Fach- und Führungskräfte aus der ganzen Welt. Vom Hidden Champion bis zum weltbekannten Marktführer sind hier alle Arten von Betrieben fest verwurzelt und bieten ihren Mitarbeiter_innen ergänzend zur besonderen Lebensqualität der Region noch eine Vielzahl an Benefits.

 

© Hannes Pacheiner

Von der Unterstützung in bürokratischen Angelegenheiten, bei der Arbeitsplatzsuche der*des Partner_in oder in der Kinderbetreuung wird der Start ins neue Leben so einfach wie möglich gestaltet. Beruf und Familie lassen sich so optimal in Einklang bringen. Selbstverständlich werden Willkommenskultur und Diversität hier nicht nur gepredigt, sondern gelebt.

Ein wichtiger Grundstein für den Erfolgsweg Villachs sind natürlich auch die besonders guten Rahmenbedingungen für Arbeitskräfte in Österreich. So sorgen unter anderem gesetzliche Pflichtversicherungen für finanzielle Absicherung im Falle von Krankheit, Unfall oder Arbeitslosigkeit und bieten auch für Familienangehörige einen umfassenden Versicherungsschutz. Und der jährliche Urlaubsanspruch beträgt gleich 25 Tage.

 

© RVT | Martin Hofmann

Weitere Zahlen zum Thema


2.576
Unternehmens-neugründungen gab es 2018 in Kärnten
3,16%
Forschungsquote betrug 2017 die Forschungsquote in Österreich, womit man EU-weit auf dem 2. Platz lag
238
Unternehmens-gründungen
11,5%
Arbeitslosenquote