© RVT | Michael Stabentheiner

Infos

GLOBAL BRANDS IN A GLOBAL PARTNERSHIP

 

The founders of welcome2villach.at come from the following sectors, and they are responsible for the information provided here:

  • eight world-renowned tech and manufacturing companies
  • the interregional technology and innovation cluster
  • the region’s tourism organization
  • the local university
  • the top European research center
  • the public healthcare provider
  • the city government of Villach

Together they represent Villach as a modern center of business, an innovative research hub, and an outstanding place to live.

VILLACH - BOUNDLESS QUALITY OF LIFE IN THE CITY ON THE DRAU

The vibrant center of the Austria - Italy - Slovenia tri-border region as the home of work-life balance.

With around 62,000 residents, Villach is the seventh largest city in Austria. Situated right in the middle of Europe, this city has established itself as the dynamic and sustainable center of the Alps-Adriatic region. Its proximity to both important transport routes and the neighboring countries of Italy (30 km to the Italian border town of Tarvis) and Slovenia (95 km to the Slovenian capital of Ljubljana), make Villach an important Central European transportation hub.

 

© RVT | Michael Stabentheiner

Surrounded by mountains, lakes, and forests, you can also find exceptional scenic attractions in Villach itself, and you can delight in the Mediterrean attitude towards life that the locals have, which is well-known even beyond the city’s borders. The extraordinary quality of life in this city on the Drau can be enjoyed all year long. Whether it’s skiing in winter or hiking in summer, the breathtaking mountains in and around Villach offer fun activities at any time of the year.

What’s more, the city borders on countless picturesque lakes such as Ossiacher See, Faaker See, Silbersee, Vassacher See, or St. Leonharder See. These lakes all have drinking quality water and are popular destinations for young and old, especially in summer.

 

© RVT | Stefan Leitner

As a long-standing crossroads in the tri-border region, Villach has always been characterized by a wide-ranging business landscape. Whether advanced technology, skilled trade businesses, or industry, the city is equally open to both the founding of new companies as well as supporting long-established ones. The diverse economic scene offers a colorful variety of career opportunities for people from all over the world.

In Villach, the thirst for education and hunger for knowledge are quenched with first class educational offerings, from primary school to higher education and adult education. In addition to primary schools, middle schools and academic middle schools, vocational and trade schools, several types of high schools, universities of applied sciences, and a distance learning center, after-school programs and vacation care programs are also available. In addition, there are grants to help cover school costs, counselling centers, a music school, and a wide range of adult education offerings.

 

© RVT | Michael Stabentheiner

Living and working in Villach is especially interesting for families, and truly life-enriching. The city was named a “Child Friendly City” by UNICEF and is distinguished as one of Austria’s “Family Friendly Cities”. In addition, at the beginning of 2021 the province of Carinthia received the “Family Award” from the International Federation for Family Development (IFFD) for its commitment to making the province family- and child-friendly.

Located in the southernmost province of Austria, Villach residents also naturally benefit from the high standards of the social and healthcare systems of the Alpine republic. From health insurance to unemployment insurance, a variety of legal frameworks guarantee support in difficult times.

All told, Villach is a place where work and private life complement each other, and which opens up completely new perspectives on all levels. It is a place for exciting careers, high-quality education, and an active lifestyle with the whole family in a pristine environment.

 

© Stadt Villach | Karin Wernig

© RVT | Michael Stabentheiner

Infos

GLOBALE MARKEN IN EINER GLOBALEN PARTNERSCHAFT


Alle aufgelisteten Unternehmen und Organisationen sind Initiatoren von welcome2villach.at und für die vorliegende Informationssammlung verantwortlich:

  • acht weltbekannte Industriebetriebe
  • der überregionale Technologie- und Innovationscluster"
  • die regionale Tourismusorganisation
  • die lokale Fachhochschule
  • das europäische Spitzenforschungszentrum
  • der öffentliche Gesundheitsversorger
  • und die Villacher Stadtverwaltung.
     

Gemeinsam repräsentieren sie den modernen Wirtschaftsstandort, das innovative Wissenschaftszentrum und den außergewöhnlichen Lebensraum Villach.

VILLACH - GRENZENLOS LEBENSWERTESTE STADT AN DER DRAU

Das pulsierende Zentrum des Dreiländerecks Österreich - Italien - Slowenien als “Home of Work-Life Balance”.

Mit rund 62.000 Einwohner_innen ist Villach die siebtgrößte Stadt Österreichs. Mitten in Europa gelegen, etabliert sie sich seit jeher als das dynamische und nachhaltige Zentrum der Alpen-Adria-Region. Die verkehrsgünstige Lage und vor allem die Nähe zu Italien (30 km zum italienischen Grenzort Tarvis) und Slowenien (95 km in die slowenische Hauptstadt Ljubljana) machen Villach zu einem wichtigen mitteleuropäischen Verkehrsknotenpunkt.

 

© RVT | Michael Stabentheiner

Umgeben von Bergen, Seen und Wäldern findet man in Villach aber auch besondere Naturschönheiten vor und kann sich an dem - weit über die Grenzen hinaus - bekannten mediterranen Lebensgefühl der Bevölkerung erfreuen. Die außergewöhnliche Lebensqualität in der Stadt an der Drau lässt sich das ganze Jahr über genießen. Ob Schifahren im Winter oder Wandern im Sommer, die atemberaubende Bergwelt in und rund um Villach bietet Freizeitspaß zu jeder Jahreszeit. 

Das Stadtgebiet grenzt außerdem an zahlreiche malerische Seen, wie den Ossiacher See, den Faaker See, den Silbersee, Vassacher See oder St. Leonharder See. Ausnahmslos alle davon haben Trinkwasserqualität und sind gerade im Sommer beliebter Anlaufpunkt für Jung und Alt.

 

© RVT | Stefan Leitner

Als historisch gewachsener Kreuzungspunkt im Dreiländereck war Villach immer schon durch eine breitgefächerte Unternehmenslandschaft geprägt. Ob Hochtechnologie, Handwerksbetrieb oder Industrie, die Stadt steht Neugründungen genauso offen gegenüber wie der Unterstützung von Alteingesessenen. Die vielfältige Wirtschaftsszene bietet so ein buntes Angebot und unterschiedlichste Karrieremöglichkeiten für Arbeitnehmer_innen aus aller Welt. 

Bildungshunger und Wissensdurst wird in Villach mit einem Top-Bildungsangebot, von der Volks- bis hin zur Hochschule und Erwachsenenbildung gestillt. Neben den Volksschulen, Mittelschulen und Gymnasien, Polytechnischen und Berufsschulen, den Mittleren und Höheren Schulen, der Fachhochschule und dem Fernstudienzentrum wird in Villach auch schulische Nachmittagsbetreuung und Ferienbetreuung angeboten. Des Weiteren gibt es Schulbeihilfen, psychologische Beratungsstellen, eine Musikschule und ein breites Angebot in der Erwachsenenbildung. 

 

© RVT | Michael Stabentheiner

Das Leben und Arbeiten in Villach ist vor allem für Familien interessant und eine wahre Bereicherung. Die Stadt wurde von der UNICEF als “Kinderfreundliche Gemeinde” ausgezeichnet, trägt den nationalen Titel “Familienfreundliche Gemeinde”. Außerdem wurde das Bundesland Kärnten Anfang 2021 mit dem “IFFD-Award für die Förderung von Familienwerten” ausgezeichnet.

Im südlichsten Bundesland Österreichs gelegen, profitieren die Villacher_innen außerdem natürlich auch vom hohen Standard des Sozial- und Gesundheitssystem der Alpenrepublik. Von der Kranken- bis hin zur Arbeitslosenversicherung garantiert ein Vielzahl an gesetzlich fixierte Maßnahmen Unterstützung in schwierigen Lebensphasen.

Alles in allem ist Villach ein Platz, wo sich Arbeit und Privatleben ideal ergänzen und sich auf allen Ebenen völlig neue Perspektiven erschließen lassen. Ein Ort für spannende Karrieren. Für qualitativ hochwertige Bildung. Für einen aktiven Lebensstil in einer intakten Umwelt mit der ganzen Familie.

 

© Stadt Villach | Karin Wernig