© RVT | Stefan Leitner

Living

LIVE. WHERE OTHERS GO ON VACATION

ONE OF THE MANY REASONS THAT MAKE IT SPECIAL TO HAVE YOUR HOME IN VILLACH.

LIVE. WHERE OTHERS GO ON VACATION

Located right at the juncture where three cultures meet, this city on the Drau River has always been an important transportation hub in the Alps-Adriatic region.

This particular geographic location right near the tri-border region of Austria - Italy - Slovenia, as well as its extraordinary natural beauty, has for generations made Villach and the province of Carinthia a popular vacation destination for travelers from around the world.

 

© Stadt Villach | Karin Wernig

ALPS-ADRIATIC TRANSPORTATION HUB IN THE HEART OF EUROPE

Thanks to its central location at the crossroads of three important European freeways, its proximity to the northern Mediterranean ports, and the many airports in the immediate vicinity, southern Austria is easily reached from around the world. And likewise, from here you can easily get to anywhere else. Anyone who is dreaming of an exotic vacation or wanting to visit family abroad will discover that Villach is an ideal starting point for every kind of adventure.

© RVT | Adrian Hipp

From here you can take a spontaneous day-trip to the picturesque Venice lagoons, go for a stroll through the historic old town of Salzburg, or hike to some of the highest peaks in the Alps. Even the European metropolises of Ljubljana, Munich, and Vienna are easily reached by car or with the region’s most modern train lines.

© This Photo was taken by Wolfgang Moroder | Wikimedia Commons | CC BY-SA 3
© Thomas Ledl - Eigenes Werk | CC BY-SA 4.0 | https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=43046424
© Martin Falbisoner | Frauenkirche Munich March 2013 | CC BY-SA 3.0
Welcome2Villach Zitat

There are many ways that the city on the Drau has earned its title “home of work-life balance”.

But it’s not only the short distances to many European cities and tourist attractions that make Villach so attractive - in addition, the environment around the city has an impressive and extraordinary diversity of recreational opportunities. The region has been one of the most popular vacation destinations in Central Europe for over a century and is an amazing mix of history, nature, and adventure.

The uniqueness of the landscape with mountains and valleys, lakes and sea, city and countryside bring hundreds of thousands of vacationers to the region every year. Here they seek and find enjoyment, relaxation, and inspiration all year long. At the same time, the natural diversity of the environment offers locals an exceptional place to live. The drinking water quality of the lakes and the especially clean air make Villach and its surroundings a natural paradise.

© RVT | Martin Hofmann

In addition to the geographical advantages, having Austria as your home has a great many other social, health, and economic benefits. The social and healthcare system is one of the best in the world, and numerous international studies show that Austria is a particularly safe and prosperous country with a high quality of life.

Despite the above-average well-being of the population and the comprehensive social services, Villach still compares very well with many other international destinations in terms of value for money. The “small town bonus” plays a role here and allows for an affordable daily life in an especially comfortable and enjoyable environment.

© RVT | Michael Stabentheiner

Villach’s Key Figures

Current indices of the crowdsourcing platform numbeo.
numbeo.com

67.02 moderate
Cost of Living
91.45 very high
Safety
90.66 very high
Healthcare Services
167.55 high
Quality of Life

DIVERSITY & INTERNATIONALITY


Villach’s location in the tri-border region has always ensured a multicultural and diverse environment. Numerous regional initiatives strengthen and support the international diversity of the region.
 

A FUN WAY TO NETWORK

The Carinthian International Center has served the region’s constantly growing international community for several years, and is a place where new arrivals can quickly make contact with locals and other expats. This helps get you started in Villach and also ensures a colorful yearly program with outdoor community events, culture for young and old, as well as parties and events.

Additionally, through the CIC Service GmbH, local companies and individuals offer comprehensive support with moving, official bureaucratic processes, and adjusting to life in your new home of Villach.

© Martin Gfrerer

THE LOCAL MOUNTAIN AS NATURE’S STAGE

The mountain closest to Villach is well known as a wonderful place for all kinds of recreation and relaxation, and this is where nature is still the set designer and sound engineer. Carinthia’s oldest Nature Park is found on the Dobratsch, as this mountain is called, at 2,167 meters above sea-level. Incomparable and well-marked hiking trails, a fascinating exhibition of native bird life, an exciting geology trail, and the wonderful Alpine garden with over 1,000 Alpine plants are all waiting to be explored.

The entire region of the Villach Alps has been protected as a Nature Park since 2002. What is conserved here is also passed on to our visitors: untouched landscapes, diverse flora and fauna, unforgettable nature experiences, and the most beautiful places to watch, relax, and enjoy.

© RVT | Martin Hofmann

NATURE PARK FACTS AND NUMBERS:
 

  • Model region for sustainable development: cooperation between the equally important aspects of education, recreation, regional development, and conservation
  • 4 municipalities
  • 5 mountain lodges
  • 8 Nature Park schools and preschools
  • 10 Nature Park rangers
  • 11 speciality producers
  • 22 partner businesses
  • 16.5 km Alpenstraße up to 1,732m above sea level

AN EXTRAORDINARY PARADISE OF NATURE AND CONSERVATION:
 

  • There are more than 70 electric vehicle charging stations, including a Tesla Supercharger, within a 30 minute drive of Villach.
  • Carinthia has more than 1,200 lakes and ponds and almost all of them have drinking water quality.
  • Protected conservation areas account for approximately 28% of Villach’s urban area.
  • The City of Villach has been awarded the European Energy Award Gold meaning that it is an energy conservation champion.

TRI-CULTURAL REGION

Villach’s location at the crossroads of three large and influential European cultures is absolutely unequaled. The influences of the Germanic, Romanesque, and Slavic cultural groups are perceptible in various ways in everyday life, and are particularly reflected in the open-minded attitude and temperament of the people.

© RVT | Martin Hofmann

ALL OF VILLACH IS A STAGE

On the banks of the Drau River, people love to celebrate. Villach’s Carnival celebration is the best-known in the country and the Kirchtag city festival is Austria’s largest traditional folk event. The “Carinthian Summer” is renowned as a first-rate music and culture festival. September is dedicated to Europe’s largest Harley-Davidson rally, and Advent in Villach has one of the most popular Christmas markets in the Alps, with over 100,000 visitors from Italy and Slovenia.

© RVT | Thomas van Emmerik

VILLACH’S KIRCHTAG FESTIVAL

Villach’s Kirchtag, a traditional folk festival, is well-known far beyond Carinthia’s borders. This festival takes place in the days around the first Saturday in August, and Villach’s old town is transformed into a huge fairground. The Kirchtag’s annual highlight is the grand “Trachtenfestzug”, or traditional dress parade, which goes through the old town and whose diverse array of participants come to Villach from far and wide to take part.

RVT | MARTIN HOFMANN
© RVT | Martin Hofmann

VILLACH’S OUTSTANDING SPORT, RECREATION, AND EVENT INFRASTRUCTURE

Whoever lives in Villach doesn’t only appreciate the Mediterranean atmosphere and the local zest for life, but also benefits from the many sport- and nature-based recreational opportunities.


THE INCREDIBLE KÄRNTENTHERME SPA EXPERIENCE 

The KärntenTherme in Warmbad Villach is Austria’s most modern and diverse world of spa experiences. Whether wellness or fun in the pool, here you can find free-time fun for the whole family, no matter the weather. 


CCV - CONGRESS CENTER VILLACH

The most modern architecture, the latest technology, and first-class dining - all of this can be found at the Congress Center Villach convention center, idyllically located on the banks of the Drau.


VILLACH AS A CITY OF SPORTS

Through the creation of a high-quality infrastructure and a very active club scene, Villach has built a reputation as being a leader for sports.

© RVT | Arthur Mrsel
© RVT | Lois Lammerhuber
© RVT | LIK Fotoakademie

© RVT | Stefan Leitner

Living

LEBEN. WO ANDERE URLAUB MACHEN

EINER VON VIELEN GRÜNDEN, DIE VILLACH ALS LEBENSMITTELPUNKT BESONDERS MACHEN.

LEBEN. WO ANDERE URLAUB MACHEN

Direkt am Schnittpunkt dreier Kulturen gelegen ist die Stadt am Drau-Fluss seit jeher ein wichtiger Verkehrsknotenpunkt im Alpen-Adria-Raum.

Diese spezielle geographische Lage, ganz in der Nähe des Dreiländerecks Österreich-Italien-Slowenien, und die außergewöhnliche Schönheit der Natur machen Villach und das Bundesland Kärnten seit Generationen – weit über alle Grenzen hinaus – zu einer beliebten Urlaubsdestination.

 

© Stadt Villach | Karin Wernig

ALPEN-ADRIA-VERKEHRSKNOTEN IM HERZEN EUROPAS

Dank des zentralen Standorts an der Kreuzung dreier wichtiger europäischer Autobahnen, der Nähe zu den nördlichen Mittelmeerhäfen und der vielen Flughäfen in der unmittelbaren Umgebung kommt man unkompliziert aus der ganzen Welt direkt in den Süden Österreichs. Und umgekehrt gelangt man von hier aus natürlich auch schnell überall hin. Wer also vom exotischen Urlaub oder internationalen Familienbesuch träumt, der entdeckt in Villach den idealen Ausgangspunkt für jede Art von Abenteuer.

© RVT | Adrian Hipp

Von hier führt ein spontaner Tagesausflug direkt in die malerische Lagune von Venedig, zu einem Bummel durch die historische Altstadt von Salzburg oder auf einige der höchsten Gipfel der Alpen. Selbst die EU-Metropolen Ljubljana, München und Wien sind mit dem Auto oder modernsten Zugverbindungen in unmittelbarer Reichweite. So wird der neue Lebensmittelpunkt plötzlich zum Erlebnismittelpunkt.

  • fgvhbjnkm
  • fcgvhbjnkml,
  • fcgvhbjnkml,ö
© This Photo was taken by Wolfgang Moroder | Wikimedia Commons | CC BY-SA 3.0
© Von Thomas Ledl - Eigenes Werk | CC BY-SA 4.0 | https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=43046424
© Martin Falbisoner | Frauenkirche Munich March 2013 | CC BY-SA 3.0
Welcome2Villach Zitat

Die Draustadt verdient sich in vielerlei Hinsicht den Titel “Home of Work-Life-Balance”.

Aber nicht nur die kurzen Wege zu vielen europäischen Metropolen und Sehenswürdigkeiten machen Villach so attraktiv, auch die unmittelbare Umgebung überzeugt mit einer außergewöhnlichen Freizeitvielfalt. Die Region gilt seit mehr als einem Jahrhundert als eine der beliebtesten Urlaubsdestinationen Mitteleuropas und überzeugt mit einem hochwertigen Mix aus Geschichte, Natur und Abenteuer.

Die Einzigartigkeit der Landschaften zwischen Berg und Tal, See und Meer, Stadt und Land bringt jährlich hunderttausende Urlaubsgäste in die Region. Sie suchen und finden hier zu jeder Jahreszeit Vergnügen, Erholung und Inspiration. Gleichzeitig bietet gerade die ursprüngliche Vielfalt der Natur besonders den Einheimischen einen außergewöhnlichen Lebensraum. Die Trinkwasserqualität der Seen und die besonders saubere Luft machen Villach und seine Umgebung zu einem Naturparadies.

© RVT | Martin Hofmann

Neben den geographischen Pluspunkten überzeugt der “Wohnsitz Österreich” vor allem auch mit sozialen, gesundheitlichen und wirtschaftlichen Argumenten. Das Sozial- und Gesundheitssystem ist im weltweiten Vergleich führend. Zahlreiche internationale Studien sehen Österreich seit Jahrzehnten als besonders sicheres, wohlhabendes und lebenswertes Land.

Trotz des überdurchschnittlichen Wohlstandes in der Bevölkerung und der umfassenden staatlichen Sozialleistungen schneidet Villach im Kostenvergleich mit vielen internationalen Destinationen überraschend preiswert ab. Der “Kleinstadtbonus” kommt hier voll zum Tragen und ermöglicht einen erschwinglichen Alltag in einer besonders lebenswerten Umgebung.

© RVT | Michael Stabentheiner

Villach Kennzahlen

Aktuelle Indizes der Crowdsourcing-Plattform Numbeo.
numbeo.com

67,02 moderat
Lebenserhaltungs-kosten
91,45 sehr hoch
Sicherheit
90,66 sehr hoch
Gesundheits-versorgung
167,55 hoch
Lebensqualität

VIELFALT & INTERNATIONALITÄT:


Die Lage im Dreiländereck sorgt seit jeher für ein multikulturelles und vielfältiges Umfeld. Zahlreiche regionale Initiativen verstärken und unterstützen die internationale Vielfalt in der Region.
 

NETZWERKEN MIT SPASSFAKTOR

Die stetig wachsende internationale Community der Region organisiert sich seit einigen Jahren im Carinthian International Center. Hier finden Neuankömmlinge schnellen Kontakt zu anderen Expats und Einheimischen. Das hilft beim Start in Villach und sorgt darüber hinaus für ein buntes Jahresprogramm mit gemeinsamen Outdoor-Events, Kultur für Klein und Groß bis hin zu Parties und Veranstaltungen.

Mit der CIC Service GmbH bietet man außerdem Unternehmen und Privatpersonen umfassende Hilfestellungen beim Umzug, den Behördenwege und der Neuorientierung am neuen Wohnort Villach.

© Martin Gfrerer

DER HAUSBERG ALS NATURSCHAUPLATZ

Auf Villachs Naherholungsberg ist die Natur selbst noch Kulissenbauer und Tonmeister. Auf dem Dobratsch mit 2.167 Metern Seehöhe liegt der älteste Naturpark Kärntens. Einzigartige und bestens markierte Wanderungen, eine faszinierende Ausstellung zur heimischen Vogelwelt, ein spannender Geologiepfad und der wundervolle Alpengarten mit über 1000 alpinen Pflanzen warten darauf erkundet zu werden.

Das gesamte Gebiet der Villacher Alpe ist seit 2002 als Naturpark geschützt. Hier wird erhalten, was auch unseren Gästen weitergegeben wird: Unberührte Landschaften, vielfältige Fauna und Flora, unvergessliche Naturerlebnisse und die schönsten Plätze zum Schauen, Entspannen und Genießen.

© RVT | Martin Hofmann

ZAHLEN UND FAKTEN ZUM NATURPARK:

 

  • Modellregion für nachhaltige Entwicklung: Gleichrangiges Miteinander von Bildung, Erholung, Regionalentwicklung und Schutz
  • 4 Gemeinden
  • 5 Almhütten
  • 8 Naturpark-Schulen und -Kindergärten
  • 10 Naturpark-Ranger
  • 11 Spezialitätenhersteller
  • 22 Partner_innenbetriebe
  • 16,5 km Alpenstraße bis auf 1.732m Seehöhe

EIN GANZ BESONDERES NATUR- UND UMWELTSCHUTZPARADIES:

 

  • Im Umkreis von 30 Minuten Fahrtzeit von Villach stehen mehr als 70 Elektrotankstellen zur Verfügung. Darunter auch ein Tesla-Supercharger.
  • Kärnten hat mehr als 1.200 Seen und Teiche und nahezu alle davon haben Trinkwasserqualität.
  • Rund 28 % der Villacher Stadtfläche sind Landschaftsschutzgebiet.
  • Die Stadt Villach ist Träger des European Energy Award Gold und damit ausgezeichneter Energiesparmeister.

DREI-KULTURENRAUM

Die Lage Villachs am Kreuzungspunkt dreier großer, Europa prägender, Kulturräume ist absolut beispiellos. Die Einflüsse der germanischen, romanischen und slawischen Kulturkreise sind im täglichen Leben facettenreich spürbar und spiegeln sich besonders in der weltoffenen Haltung und im Temperament der Bewohner_innen wider.

© RVT | Martin Hofmann

GANZ VILLACH EINE BÜHNE

An der Drau wird gerne und regelmäßig gefeiert. Der Villacher Fasching gilt als der bekannteste Karneval und der Villacher Kirchtag als die größte Brauchtumsveranstaltung Österreichs. Den “Carinthischen Sommer” kennt man als ein renommiertes, hochkarätig besetztes Musik- und Kulturfestival. Der September steht im Zeichen des größten Harley-Davidson-Treffen Europas und der Villacher Advent ist einer der beliebtesten Weihnachtsmärkte im Alpenraum mit über hunderttausend Gästen aus Italien und Slowenien.

© RVT | Thomas van Emmerik

VILLACHER KIRCHTAG

Das Brauchtumsfest Villacher Kirchtag ist weit über die Grenzen Kärntens hinaus bekannt. Rund um den ersten Samstag im August findet die Brauchtumswoche statt, in der sich die Villacher Altstadt in eine riesige Festmeile verwandelt. Der alljährliche Höhepunkt beim Villacher Kirchtag ist der große Trachtenfestzug durch die Altstadt mit einer Vielfalt an Teilnehmer_innen, die von weit her nach Villach kommen.

RVT | MARTIN HOFMANN
© RVT | Martin Hofmann

VILLACHS BESONDERE SPORT-, FREIZEIT- UND EVENTINFRASTRUKTUR:

Wer in Villach lebt, schätzt nicht nur den mediterranen Flair und die Lebensfreude, sondern kommt auch in den Genuss der vielen Freizeitmöglichkeiten rund um Sport und Naturerlebnis.

ERLEBNISWELT KÄRNTENTHERME

Die KärntenTherme in Warmbad Villach ist Österreichs modernste und vielfältigste Erlebniswelt. Ob Wellness oder Badespaß, hier gibt es wetterunabhängigen Freizeitspaß für die ganze Familie.

CCV - CONGRESS CENTER VILLACH

Modernste Architektur, neueste Technik und 3-Hauben-Gastronomie. All das vereint das Congress Center Villach, idyllisch gelegen an der Drau, in sich.

SPORTSTADT VILLACH

Durch die Schaffung einer qualitativ hochwertigen Infrastruktur und einem sehr aktiven Vereinswesen hat sich Villach den Ruf einer echten Vorzeige-Sportstadt erarbeitet.

© RVT | Arthur Mrsel
© RVT | Lois Lammerhuber
© RVT | LIK Fotoakademie