© RVT | Michael Stabentheiner

INVESTING

INVEST. WHERE VISIONS BECOME REALITY

THIS IS WHERE THE TIME-HONORED OLD ECONOMY MEETS THE PROSPEROUS NEW ECONOMY.

As one of the well-established hubs of the vibrant Alps-Adriatic economic region, the City of Villach has long positioned itself as a helpful pioneer and innovative incubator for technological advancement. Here in the tri-border region of Austria, Italy, and Slovenia, intercultural living meets a large pool of well-educated specialists as well as a special commitment to a culture of cooperation in politics and management, which extends across many industries and borders.

© RVT | Michael Stabentheiner

In recent years, the €1.6 billion investment in Europe’s most modern microchip factory by Infineon Technologies Austria and being chosen as one of only three locations of Silicon Austria Labs show how important the region has become in the European technology scene. Large and established multinational corporations such as 3M, Imerys, Flowserve and Lam Research, as well as innovative small- and medium-sized companies in the technology and service sectors, characterize the diversified economic structure.

© Hannes Pacheiner

INFINEON’S €1.6B INVESTMENT IN NUMBERS:

 

EXPANSION: RESEARCH & DEVELOPMENT

  • Area: 20,000 m2
  • Employees: 600
  • Started operations in 2020
     

NEW CONSTRUCTION: EUROPE’S MOST MODERN MICROCHIP FACTORY

  • Technology: 300 mm wafer
  • Area: 60,000 m2
  • Employees: 400
  • Production Launch: Fall 2021

Villach as a Business Hub in Numbers


3.982 businesses with 31,004 employees
31% of businesses are in the manufacturing sector
(of which 16.9% are in the technology sector)
75% are in the service sector
(of which 8.4% are skilled services & 6.2% tourism)
238 new businesses founded in 2019

RELOCATION SERVICES & SUPPORT AND FUNDING PROGRAMS

As companies are being established or developed they can benefit from the specially developed funding and other support programs and the one-stop-service approach of the City of Villach. With consultations and advice tailored to the individual requirements of each company, the team in Villach’s city hall ensures engaged and flexible support. This can help start-ups as well as long-established manufacturers, small boutique hotels, or large commercial enterprises.

The support extends from the preparation of comprehensive information about the location, to the identification of concrete site suggestions with city and transport planners, to the accompaniment on site visits. This includes both city-owned business development areas as well as promising privately-owned properties.

A key part of the First Stop Relocation Service is the coordination of all contact persons who are important in the approval process, and subsequently, connecting with relevant development partners. Depending on the field, this could be research centers, educational institutions, or organizations, for example Villach’s city marketing office, the Economic Chambers (Wirtschaftskammer), or the Carinthian International Center.

© RVT | Adrian Hipp
Lupe

VILLACH’S OFFERING TO COMPANIES AT A GLANCE:

 

FIRST STOP RELOCATION SERVICE

  • High-quality service – contact partners in the city hall provide multilingual and competent support with:

ATTRACTIVE AND TARGETED SUPPORT & FUNDING OFFERINGS

  • Villach supports diversity
  • Structural change funding
  • Villach’s outdoor spaces 2021
  • General investment support
  • Funding for tourism infrastructure and events
     

DOWNTOWN EXPERIENCE

  • Villach’s city marketing office (Stadtmarketing Villach) advises and provides services and information about properties in the city center as well as a variety of communications and networking activities.
Lupe

In terms of infrastructure, this city on the Drau has long shown that it easily meets the expectations for future-oriented investments. Villach has always been exceptionally well connected. In the past it was by rail, and today it is by fiber-optic networks and 220/110 Kv power lines, which contribute to a secure energy supply, as well as by international freeway connections, which turn the region into a highly-frequented transportation junction.

 

© Stadt Villach | Karin Wernig

The major investment in a new power substation has ensured future energy supply reliability and voltage quality. Through clean and sustainable hydropower electricity production and a powerful grid support infrastructure, Carinthia is well-prepared for steadily growing energy demands. Additionally, the availability of stable, interference-free, and high-quality communications technology is being continuously expanded. Extensive measures for the provision of ultrafast broadband internet as well as wireless communications networks are already quite advanced.

© RVT | Michael Stabentheiner

NUMBERS & FACTS ABOUT VILLACH’S INFRASTRUCTURE:

 

ELECTRICITY & DATA

  • INTERNET IN VILLACH
    • Complete coverage of the city with  >100Mbit (A1)
    • In cooperation with the energy company Kelag, in many places in Villach it is possible to get FTTH (fiber to the home)
    • Promising next generation technology
    • Speeds up to 1000 Mbit/s 
    • Less susceptible to problems
    • Consistent connection speeds independent of the number of users 
    • Perfect for triple play - telephone, internet, and TV (IPTV)
    • Ideal for data-intensive applications
    • Radiation-free and sustainable regardless of weather conditions
    • ​Internet exchange ViX  (Vienna) / SIX Ljubljana (SLO) are very close
    • Low-latency WAN

       
  • ELECTRICITY - KELAG
    • Electricity 100% from hydropower and green energy sources - clean power for a climate-friendly Austria, today and in the future.
    • No CO2 emissions or radioactive wastes are produced in the generation of the supplier fuel mix
    • Hydropower (84.15%)
    • Wind energy (10.85%)
    • Solid/liquid biomass (2.75%)
    • Solar power (1.25%)
    • Miscellaneous green energy sources (1%)

 

LOGISTICS CENTRE AUSTRIA SOUTH

  • Approx. 150 hectares total area at the junction of two European transport corridors (Pan-European Corridor and Baltic-Adriatic Corridor)
  • 56.2 hectares of undeveloped area available
  • Cargo handling and intermodal platform
  • Efficient road and rail connections to North Adriatic ports
  • 1,000 km radius encompasses the whole of Central Europe and large CEE markets
  • 60 million people with a 500 km radius 
  • Daily capacity of approx. 3,200 railroad cars in the shunting yard

PLENTY OF SPACE FOR INNOVATIVE IDEAS

The open technology laboratory OTELO serves as an experimental and free space in the technology scene. Attractive co-working spaces facilitate straightforward working and networking from the old town (Co-Quartier) to the more rural outskirts of the city (BizFarm). Working at the lake is also possible with the Business Beach, and the “Gründergarage” provides comprehensive infrastructure for start-ups.

© Arnold Pöschl

PULLING TOGETHER

More than 20 years ago the “Stadt-Umland-Regionalkooperation” project was established - a cooperative effort between the City of Villach and nearby towns in the region - which has been able to guide, support, co-develop, and advise 110 projects in the Villach region since then. With this regional management strategy, the City of Villach and the 19 surrounding communities have created a platform which pools resources, optimizes the cooperation between municipalities, and strengthens the region. The goal of this cooperative project is to carry out cross-community projects and to create recreational opportunities and living spaces.

© Karin Wernig
© Stadt Villach | Karin Wernig

Stadt-Umland-Regionalkooperation


20 member municipalities
1999 year established
10.144 km2 area
126.624 residents (1.1.2018)

© HPhoto Hannes Pacheiner

INVESTING

INVESTIEREN, WO VISIONEN REALITÄT WERDEN

HIER TRIFFT TRADITIONSREICHE OLD- AUF PROSPERIERENDE NEW ECONOMY.

Als eines der historisch gewachsenen Zentren im pulsierenden Alpen-Adria-Wirtschaftsraum positioniert sich die Stadt Villach traditionell als hilfreicher Wegbereiter und innovativer Inkubator für technologischen Fortschritt. Hier im Dreiländereck Österreich-Italien-Slowenien trifft gelebte Internationalität auf einen großen Pool an gut ausgebildeten Fachkräften und besonderes Engagement in Politik und Verwaltung auf eine Kooperationskultur, die sich über jegliche Branchen und Grenzen erstreckt.

 

© RVT | Michael Stabentheiner

In der jüngeren Vergangenheit zeigen vor allem die 1,6 Milliarden Euro Investition von Infineon Technologies Austria in die modernste Chipfabrik Europas und der Zuschlag als einer von nur drei Standorten der Silicon Austria Labs, welch hohen Stellenwert die Region mittlerweile auf der europäischen Technologielandkarte erlangt hat. Etablierte, weltweit agierende Großunternehmen wie 3M, Imerys, Flowserve oder Lam Research prägen die diversifizierte Wirtschaftsstruktur ebenso wie innovative Klein- und Mittelbetriebe im Technologie- und Dienstleistungssektor.

© Hannes Pacheiner

INFINEONS 1,6-MRD-INVESTMENT IN ZAHLEN:

 

AUSBAU: FORSCHUNG & ENTWICKLUNG 

  • Fläche: 20.000 m2
  • Mitarbeiter_innen: 600
  • 2020 in Betrieb gegangen
     

NEUBAU: EUROPAS MODERNSTE CHIPFABRIK

  • Technologie: 300-mm-Wafer
  • Fläche: 60.000 m2
  • Mitarbeiter: 400
  • Produktionsstart: Herbst 2021

Wirtschaftsstandort Villach in Zahlen


3.982 Unternehmen mit 31.004 Beschäftigten
31% Produktionssektor
(davon 16,9% im Technologiebereich)
75% Dienstleistungssektor
(davon 8,4 % wissensintensive Dienstleistungen, 6,2 % Tourismus)
238 Unternehmensgründungen im Jahr 2019

ANSIEDELUNGSSERVICE & FÖRDERANGEBOTE


Unternehmen profitieren von eigens entwickelten Fördermaßnahmen und dem One-Stop-Service-Ansatz der Stadt Villach bei der Betriebsansiedlung und -weiterentwicklung. Mit individuell auf die jeweiligen Anforderungen zugeschnittenen Beratungs- und Betreuungsangeboten sorgt vor allem das Team im Villacher Rathaus für engagierte und flexible Betreuung. Das hilft Start-ups ebenso wie über Generationen gewachsenen Sachgüterproduzenten, kleinen Boutiquehotels oder großen Handelsunternehmen.

Die Unterstützung reicht von der Aufbereitung umfassender Standortinformationen über die Identifikation konkreter Standortvorschläge mit der Stadt- und Verkehrsplanung bis hin zur Begleitung bei der Besichtigung vor Ort. Das umfasst sowohl stadteigene Betriebsansiedlungsflächen, als auch vielversprechende Grundstücke in privatem Eigentum.

Ein wesentlicher Teil des „First-Stop-Ansiedlungsservices“ ist die Koordination sämtlicher Ansprechpersonen im Genehmigungsverfahren und in weiterer Folge die Vernetzung mit relevanten Kooperationspartnern. Das können, je nach Branche, Forschungszentren, Ausbildungsinstitutionen oder Organisationen wie beispielsweise das Stadtmarketing Villach, die Wirtschaftskammer oder das Carinthian International Center sein.

© RVT | Adrian Hipp
Lupe

VILLACHS ANGEBOT AN UNTERNEHMEN AUF EINEM BLICK:

 

FIRST-STOP-ANSIEDELUNGSSERVICE

  • Hohe Servicequalität – Ansprechpartner_innen im Rathaus unterstützen mehrsprachig und kompetent bei:

ATTRAKTIVE UND ZIELGERICHTETE FÖRDERANGEBOTE

  • Villach fördert Vielfalt
  • Strukturveränderungsförderung
  • Außenraum Villach 2021
  • Allgemeine Investitionsförderung
  • Förderung von touristischer Infrastruktur und Veranstaltungen
     

ERLEBNIS INNENSTADT

  • Das Stadtmarketing Villach unterstützt mit Beratung, Service und Informationen zu Innenstadt-Immobilien und einer Vielzahl von Kommunikations- und Vernetzungsaktivitäten.
     

Kontakt zum Unternehmerservice der Stadt Villach: wirtschaft@villach.at

Lupe

Auch im Bereich Infrastruktur präsentiert sich die Draustadt traditionell mit besten Voraussetzungen für zukunftsweisende Investitionen. Der Standort Villach war immer schon außergewöhnlich gut vernetzt. War es früher die Bahn, so sind es heute vor allem Glasfasernetze und 220/110 kV-Leitungen, die zur sicheren Energieversorgung beitragen sowie internationale Autobahn-Anbindungen, die die Region zum viel frequentierten Knotenpunkt machen.

 

© Stadt Villach | Karin Wernig

Mit der Großinvestition in ein neues Umspannwerk sind Versorgungszuverlässigkeit und Spannungsqualität auch in Zukunft gewährleistet. Für den stetig zunehmenden Energiebedarf ist man in Kärnten außerdem mit der Energiegewinnung aus sauberer und nachhaltiger Wasserkraft und einer leistungsstarken Netzabstützungsinfrastruktur bestens gerüstet. Auch die Verfügbarkeit stabiler, störungsfreier und hochwertiger Kommunikationsmöglichkeiten wird laufend ausgebaut. Umfassende Maßnahmen zur Bereitstellung von ultraschnellem Breitbandinternet und auch drahtloser Kommunikationsnetze sind bereits weit fortgeschritten.

© RVT | Michael Stabentheiner

ZAHLEN FAKTEN ZU VILLACHS INFRASTRUKTUR:

 

STROM & DATEN

  • INTERNET VILLACH
    • Flächenweite Abdeckung des Stadtgebietes mit >100Mbit (A1)
    • Vielerorts ist in Villach FTTH (Fiber to the home) in Zusammenarbeit mit der Kelag möglich
    • ​Zukunftstechnologie mit Potenzial
    • Bis zu 1.000 Mbit/s Geschwindigkeit
    • Weniger störanfällig
    • Gleichbleibende Datenrate unabhängig von der Nutzerzahl
    • Perfekt für Triple Play - Telefon, Internet und TV (IPTV)
    • Ideal für datenintensive Anwendungen
    • Witterungsunabhängig, strahlenfrei und nachhaltig
    • ​Internet knoten ViX  (Vienna) / SIX Ljubljana (SLO) sind sehr nahe
    • Low latency WAN
       
  • STROM KELAG
    • ​Strom zu 100 % Wasserkraft und Ökoenergie - Sauberer Strom für ein klimafreundliches Österreich von heute und morgen  
    • Bei der Erzeugung des Versorgermixes fallen keine CO2-Emissionen und radioaktiven Abfälle an.
    • Wasserkraft (84,15 %)
    • Windenergie (10,85 %)
    • Feste/Flüssige Biomasse (2,75 %)
    • Sonnenenergie (1,25 %)
    • Sonstige Ökoenergie (1,00 %)

 

LOGISTIK CENTER AUSTRIA SÜD

  • Ca. 150 ha Gesamtfläche am Schnittpunkt zweier europäischer Transportachsen (TEN-Korridor X und Baltisch-Adriatische Achse).
  • 56,2 ha unbebaute Fläche zur Verfügung.
  • Güterumschlag und Intermodal-Plattform.
  • Leistungsfähige Straßen- und Schienenverbindung zu den nord-adriatischen Häfen.
  • 1.000 km Umkreis deckt ganz Mitteleuropa und große CEE-Märkte ab.
  • 500 km Umkreis erreicht 60 Millionen Menschen.
  • ca. 3.200 Wagen Tageskapazität im Verschiebebahnhof.

JEDE MENGE RAUM FÜR GRÜNDERIDEEN

Das offene Technologie Labor OTELO dient der Szene als Experimentier- und Freiraum. Attraktive Coworking-Spaces ermöglichen unkompliziertes Arbeiten und Vernetzen von der Altstadt (Co-Quartier) bis in die ländlicheren Außenbezirke (Bizfarm). Mit dem Business Beach ist arbeiten direkt am See möglich und die Gründergaragen stellen umfassende Infrastruktur für Start-Ups zur Verfügung.

© Arnold Pöschl

GEMEINSAM AN EINEM STRANG ZIEHEN

Vor mehr als 20 Jahren wurde die Stadt-Umland-Regionalkooperation gegründet und konnte seither 110 Projekte für den Raum Villach begleiten, unterstützen, mitentwickeln und betreuen. Mit dem Regionalmanagement haben die Stadt Villach und die 19 Umlandgemeinden eine Plattform geschaffen, welche Kräfte bündelt, interkommunale Zusammenarbeit optimiert und die Region stärkt. Ziel der Zusammenarbeit ist es gemeindeübergreifende Projekte zu verwirklichen und Freizeitangebote sowie Lebensräume zu schaffen.

© Karin Wernig
© Stadt Villach | Karin Wernig

Stadt-Umland-Regionalkooperation


20 Gemeinden als Mitglieder
1999 Gründungsjahr
10.144 km² Fläche
126.624 Einwohner (1.1.2018)