German
English

Learning

LEARNING. WITH FUN AND PURPOSE

A suitable educational offer for every stage in life.

“If your only tool is a hammer, then every problem looks like a nail.” This quote by worldfamous Villach-born communication studies scholar Paul Watzlawick hits the proverbial nail on the head. At the place where Paul’s educational journey started many years ago, children and young people can today choose from a wide array of educational offers that give them all the tools they will need in their professional lives.

As a city of artists, researchers, inventors and developers, Villach sets great store by education and offers (lifelong) learning opportunities to people of all ages.

More than 240 preschools and close to 100 primary schools in the greater Villach area give our youngest citizens a head start on their educational paths. Parents can choose from a wide array of care and educational offers for their children, including those with a multilingual focus, Montessori education and inclusive schooling. The International School Carinthia and its outstanding International Baccalaureate program round off the broad range on offer.

Upon graduating from primary school at about age 10, children can choose from many different (specialized) secondary schools, catering to diverse interests and talents.

At about age 14, young people can again select the school at which they will continue their educational path, choosing, among others, from a wide range of vocational schools and schools for higher vocational education with a technical, commercial or social focus in and around Villach. These schools offer ideal learning environments for students to receive a high level of vocational training. Some of them also lead up to the Matura schoolleaving examination, enabling graduates to enroll in university. Austria is the only country in Europe offering this unique combination of vocational and academic training at pre-university level that produces young graduates who are ideally prepared for their future careers.

And finally, the Alpen-Adria- Universität Klagenfurt (AAU), the Carinthia University of Applied Sciences (CUAS) and the University College of Teacher Education Carinthia (PH) as well as a number of further well-known universities in the region and in neighboring Italy and Slovenia offer graduate and post-graduate programs. The country’s research institutions, in turn, provide attractive opportunities to conduct research in a vast array of fields.

CITY OF KNOWLEDGE, RESEARCH AND TECHNOLOGY

The region has lived up to its reputation as a dynamic technology hotspot for years.

Not only is it home to the largest research unit in the field of microelectronics, but has also been the location of the industrial company with the highest research rate in Austria since 2014.

In addition to independent research bodies such as Carinthian Tech Research, in-house research institutions, such as Kompetenzzentrum Automobil- und Industrieelektronik (center of excellence for automotive and industrial electronics) and C.A.R.R.D., form the core of the region’s innovation scene.

The High Tech Campus Villach is home to the Silicon Alps technology and innovation cluster, which connects stakeholders in the field of electronic-based systems in the south of Austria.

The Carinthia University of Applied Sciences with locations in Villach and the nearby cities of Spittal, Feldkirchen and Klagenfurt frequently cooperates with companies in innovative research projects. One example is digital.lab, which offers help to the public administration and enterprises to master the digital transformation process. The University also directly cooperates with the regional industry, for instance in the Josef Ressel Center.

Last but not least, the Austrian Research Center for Primatology at Landskron’s “monkey mountain” is an interesting counterpoint on the otherwise technology-focused Carinthian research landscape.

INTERNATIONAL SCHOOL CARINTHIA

The International School Carinthia (ISC) in Velden offers top-class education to children of both Austrian and international families in the region.

The curriculum is based on the Austrian system and the educational approach of the International Baccalaureate (IC).

This outstanding school is located a few minutes outside of Villach by car.

Additional Links

JavaScript inactive

German
English
© FH Kärnten

Learning

LERNEN. WAS SPASS UND SINN MACHT

Hier findet sich genau das richtige Bildungsangebot für alle Lebensphasen.

"Wer als Werkzeug nur einen Hammer hat, sieht in jedem Problem einen Nagel". Mit diesem Zitat traf der weltbekannte Kommunikationswissenschaftler und gebürtige Villacher Paul Watzlawick den sprichwörtlichen Nagel auf den Kopf. Dort, wo er einst die ersten wichtigen Schritte am Bildungsweg ging, bietet sich heute Schülerinnen und Schülern sowie Studierenden ein breit gefächertes Angebot und damit ein bestens ausgestatteter Werkzeugkoffer für ihr weiteres Leben.

Als Stadt der KünstlerInnen, WissenschafterInnen, ErfinderInnen und EntwicklerInnen, legt Villach großen Wert auf Bildung und bietet reichlich Möglichkeiten für Fortbildung in allen Phasen des Lebens

Schon bei den Jüngsten sorgen in Villach und Umgebung mehr als 240 Kindergärten und knapp 100 Volksschulen für beste Voraussetzungen zum Start ins Schulleben. Mit unterschiedlichsten Schwerpunkten - von Mehrsprachigkeit über Montessori-Pädagogik bis hin zu integrativem Unterricht - gibt es zahlreiche Ausbildungs- und Betreuungsangebote. Die International School Carinthia ergänzt das Angebot sogar um eine ausgezeichnete IB (International Baccalaureate) World School. 

Im Anschluss an die Primarstufe steht eine umfangreiche Auswahl an unterschiedlich spezialisierten Neuen Mittelschulen und

Gymnasien zur Verfügung. Hier findet sich für jeden Lerntyp im Alter ab 10 Jahren die richtige Bildungseinrichtung. 

Die weitere Weichenstellung für die Zukunft erfolgt mit der schulischen Spezialisierung ab dem 14. Lebensjahr. SchülerInnen können dann zwischen den zahlreichen Berufsschulen oder technischen, wirtschaftlichen und humanberuflichen höheren Lehranstalten rund um Villach wählen. Hier sind alle Voraussetzungen für eine erfolgreiche Berufsausbildung oder Matura (Reifeprüfung nach höherer Schulausbildung) gegeben. Und gerade die europaweit einzigartige österreichische Kombination aus Hochschulreife mit Berufsausbildung liefert jungen Menschen ganz besondere Zukunftschancen.

Für den Start in die akademische Karriere oder weiterführende Studien stehen neben der Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt (AAU), der Fachhochschule (FH) Kärnten und der Pädagogischen Hochschule Kärnten (PH) noch weitere bekannte Hochschulen in der Region oder in den benachbarten italienischen und slowenischen Städten zur Verfügung. Die heimischen Forschungseinrichtungen bieten außerdem spannende Möglichkeiten zur wissenschaftlichen Arbeit auf den verschiedensten Themengebieten.

WISSENS-, FORSCHUNGS- & TECHNOLOGIESTADT

Die Region positioniert sich schon seit Jahren als dynamischer Technologiestandort. So ist nichtnur die größte Forschungseinheit für Mikroelektronik, sondern seit 2014 auch das forschungsin-tensivste Industrieunternehmen Österreichs an der Drau beheimatet.

Auf dem High Tech Campus Villach ist der Technologie- und InnovationsclusterSilicon Alps ansässig, der AkteurInnen aus dem Bereich der „Electronic Based Systems” in ganz Südösterreich vernetzt. Das neueste Leuchtturmprojekt in der Region ist der Villacher Ableger der Silicon Austria Labs (SAL). Seit 2018 entsteht im Villach Science and Technology Area (VISTA) - als einem von nur drei Standorten in Österreich - ein Spit- zenforschungszentrum von Weltklasseformat und Pionier in elektronikbasierten Systemen. Zentraler Kern der SAL in Villach ist das ehemalige Carinthian Tech Research, das bereitsseit 1997 am Standort forscht.

Neben Kompetenzzentren wie dem SAL gelten auch konzerninterne Einrichtungen wiedas Kompetenzzentrum Automobil- und Industrieelektronik oder Imerys Technologie Center Austria als Herz der heimischen Innovationsszene.

Ein beliebter Forschungspartner für Unternehmen und wichtiger Innovator ist dieFachhochschule Kärnten mit ihren Standorten in Villach und den umliegenden StädtenSpittal, Feldkirchen und Klagenfurt. Sie unterstützt zum Beispiel mit dem digital.lab dieöffentliche Verwaltung und Unternehmen bei der digitalen Transformation oder kooperiert im Rahmen der Silicon Austria Labs mit regionalen Industriepartnern.

Mit dem Forschungszentrum für Primatologie am Landskroner Affenberg sorgt Villach außerdem für einen besonders bunten Farbtupfer auf der vor allem technikorientiertenKärntner Forschungslandkarte.

INTERNATIONAL SCHOOL CARINTHIA

Mit der ISC in Velden steht Kindern aus ortsansässigen und internationalen Familien eine Spitzenleistungsschule zu Verfügung. Hier wird nach österreichischem Lehrplan und dem pädagogischen Ansatz des International Baccalaureate unterrichtet.

Ein ganz besonderes Bildungsangebot nur wenige Autominuten von Villach entfernt. 

Ergänzende Links

JavaScript inactive