German
English
© Martin Hofmann

Enjoying

ENJOY. WHAT AUSTRIA HAS TO OFFER

The incredible benefits that come with living in Villach.

As one of around 62,000 residents in Villach, you’ll not only enjoy the peaceful small-town life in Austria’s seventh-largest municipality but also benefit from the exceptional welfare services the country affords its residents.

Austria’s welfare state has always sought to achieve social justice and provide security, and numbers among the world’s leading systems in this regard. This has been confirmed by the OECD among others. It is the compulsory insurance system in particular that guarantees comprehensive social protection for everybody in the country who is economically active and, as a result, frequently for dependants such as spouses and children as well.

Society as a whole benefits from the targeted support that is provided during particular life circumstances such as illness, for families or retirement. Consequently, statutory social security covers health insurance, accident insurance, pension insurance and unemployment insurance for employees. 

This ensures that treatment from doctors and hospitals is provided free of charge in the event of illness. The Austrian healthcare system is among the best in the world and consistently strives to offer first-rate medical care. Patients have access to the most up-to-date infrastructure and superbly qualified specialists nationwide.

Furthermore, insured persons are able to access public healthcare facilities quickly and easily. As a result, there are just under 2,500 beds available in Carinthia’s 5 state hospitals located in and around Villach alone, and approximately 7,100 employees caring for patients’ well-being.

Austria also demonstrates similarly high standards with regard to occupational health and safety. Statutory regulations guarantee maximum possible security, from financial cover in the event of illness to parental leave and protection from discrimination.

The Austrian system offers many remarkable benefits to families in particular. Besides state support such as family allowance, the family time bonus and child benefit, the federal state of Carinthia, in particular, has also positioned itself as one of Europe’s most child-friendly regions with a diverse array of measures.

Austria, Carinthia, and Villach, in particular, feel a sense of duty to their populations. And regardless of whether you are young or old, here you’ll enjoy exemplary care and support in many areas of life.

CARINTHIA: THE STATE FOR HEALTH

The population of Carinthia has around 420 resident general practitioners, 640 resident specialists and 270 dentists at its disposal.

Furthermore, there are 73 independent outpatient clinics (primarily in the fields of physical and sports medicine, prevention and screening and dental and oral medicine) and 93 pharmacies.

There are 14 acute care hospitals (eleven fund hospitals, two sanatoriums and one emergency hospital) with around 3,700 acute care beds. Most of the acute care beds are reserved for the fields of internal medicine, surgery, emergency surgery and acute geriatrics.

One of two support centres in Carinthia for emergency psychiatric and crisis services is stationed in the Villach Regional Hospital.

THOROUGHLY FAMILY FRIENDLY

Austria regularly places among the top-3 nations globally in the annual Family Life Index published by InterNations (The Expat Insider survey) and is an ideal place to raise children.

Building on the comprehensive services that are already available, the Federal State of Carinthia is attempting to become the most family-friendly region in Europe. As part of that process, the region covers most of the costs of childcare up until the beginning of school with its “Child Stipend”

The city of Villach itself has not only been distinguished nationally as a “family-friendly region”, but has also been certified by UNICEF as a “child-friendly region”.

Additional Links

JavaScript inactive

German
English
© Martin Hofmann

Enjoying

GENIESSEN. WAS ÖSTERREICH BIETET

Die außergewöhnlichen Vorteile, die ein Leben in Villach mit sich bringt.

Als eine/r von rund 62.000 Einwohnern Villachs genießt man hier nicht nur das friedliche Kleinstadtleben in der siebtgrößten Stadt Österreichs, sondern kommt gleichzeitig auch in den Genuss der besonderen Fürsorge, die das Land seinen Einwohnern zuteil werden lässt.

Der österreichische Sozialstaat setzt sich seit jeher für die Herstellung sozialer Gerechtigkeit und Sicherheit ein und liegt dabei - wie unter anderem auch die OECD bestätigt - international im Spitzenfeld. Vor allem das System der Pflichtversicherung garantiert einen umfangreichen sozialen Schutz für alle im Inland erwerbstätigen Personen und damit vielfach auch für Angehörige, wie EhepartnerIn oder Kinder.

Durch die gezielte Unterstützung in konkreten Lebens­lagen, wie bei Krankheit, Familie oder Pensionen im Alter, profitiert die gesamte Gesellschaft. So umfasst die gesetzlich vorgeschriebene Sozialversicherung für unselbständig Beschäftigte eine Krankenversicherung, eine Unfallversicherung, eine Pensionsversicherung und eine Arbeitslosenversicherung.

Im Krankheitsfall ist damit zum Beispiel die kostenlose Behandlung durch ÄrztInnen und Krankenhäuser sichergestellt. Das österreichische Gesundheitssystem gilt als eines der besten der Welt und ist ständig um eine optimale medizinische Versorgung bemüht. Den Patienten stehen flächendeckend modernste Infrastruktur und bestens ausgebildete SpezialistInnen zur Verfügung.

Der Zugang zu öffentlichen Gesundheitseinrichtungen ist für Versicherte außerdem rasch und unkompliziert möglich. So stehen alleine in den 5 Kärntner Landesspitälern in und rund um Villach knapp 2.500 Betten zur Verfügung und es kümmern sich dort ca. 7.100 MitarbeiterInnen um das Wohl der Patienten.

Auch in punkto ArbeitnehmerInnenschutz weist Österreich einen vergleichsweise hohen Standard auf. Von finanzieller Absicherung im Krankheitsfall über Elternkarenz bis hin zum Schutz vor Diskriminierung garantieren gesetzliche Regelung größtmögliche Sicherheit.

Ganz speziell Familien bietet das österreichische System zahlreiche bemerkenswerte Vorteile. Neben staatlicher Unterstützung, wie Familienbeihilfe, Familienzeitbonus oder Kindergeld, positioniert sich vor allem auch das Bundesland Kärnten mit diversen zusätzlichen Maßnahmen als kinderfreundlichste Region Europas.

Österreich, Kärnten und ganz besonders Villach fühlen sich ihrer Bevölkerung verpflichtet. Und ganz egal ob jung oder alt, hier genießt man in vielen Bereichen vorbildliche Versorgung und Unterstützung.

GESUNDHEITSLAND KÄRNTEN

Der Kärntner Bevölkerung stehen rund 420 niedergelassene ÄrztInnen für Allgemeinmedizin, 640 niedergelassene FachärztInnen und 270 ZahnärztInnen zur Verfügung.

Darüber hinaus gibt es 73 selbstständige Ambulatorien (vorrangig in den Bereichen physikalische 

und Sportmedizin, Prävention und Vorsorge, Zahn- und Kieferheilkunde) und 93 Apotheken.

In ganz Kärnten gibt es 14 Akutkrankenanstalten (elf Fonds-Krankenanstalten, zwei Sanatorien und ein Unfallkrankenhaus) mit rund 3.700 Akutbetten. Die meisten Akutbetten werden in den Bereichen Innere Medizin, Chirurgie, Unfallchirurgie und Akutgeriatrie vorgehalten.

Im LKH Villach ist einer von zwei Kärntner Stützpunkten für psychiatrische Not- und Krisendienste stationiert.

DURCH UND DURCH FAMILIENFREUNDLICH

Österreich liegt im jährlichen Family Life Index von InterNations (Expat Insider Umfrage) regelmäßig unter den Top-3-Nationen weltweit und gilt als idealer Ort, um Kinder aufzuziehen.

Aufbauend auf den umfangreichen vorhandenen Leistungen verfolgt das Bundesland Kärnten das Ziel die familienfreundlichste Region Europas zu werden und übernimmt dabei zum Beispiel mit einem „Kinder-Stipendium“ den Großteil der Kosten für die Kinderbetreuung bis zur Einschulung.

Die Stadt Villach selbst trägt außerdem nicht nur die nationale Auszeichnung „Familienfreundliche Gemeinde“, sondern ist auch von UNICEF als „Kinderfreundliche Gemeinde“ zertifiziert. 

Ergänzende Links

JavaScript inactive